Let’s Talk About Independence!

by Chelsey Zumpano

Hey there, I’m back! I was sick last week and so I had no energy, ( or voice and I sounded like a smocker) to post anything! Now on to today’s post!

People thingk to be independent you have to be living on your own by 18 and then some people in the blind community think you have to be traveling completely on your own and taking public transportation. Well you know what? Being independent is different for everyone.

For me I don’t feel comfortable enough to take the bus by myself because there are to many creeps in this world. Instead I can take Dial-A-Ride, (a bus service for people who have a disability), and they pick me up at the door. I can also get rides from family. Part of being an adult, (for me), and being independent is to know what I am or am not comfortable with.

Ways I’m Independent!

1 I take care of my puppy, (Hazel).

2 I do my own laundry.

3 I edit and upload my YouTube videos.

4 I write and edit my Blog posts.

5 I’ve learned coping skills for my anxiety.

6 I know how to make meatloaf and mash potatoes.

7 I can bake cookies and brownies.

Ways I Can Become More Independent!

1 Taking Hazel for a walk by myself.

2 Taking Dial-a-Ride to the pet store.

3 Making, (my cat), Audrey an appointment to get spade.

Let me know some ways you are independent in the comments below.

Also if you haven’t already, please go vote by liking my YouTube video to help increase employability for us who are blind.

https://youtu.be/33856OamJhU

If you’d like to be interviewed or otherwise contribute to this Blog or YouTube send an email to:

viblindresources@gmail.com

Comments

4 responses to “Let’s Talk About Independence!”

  1. Amanda Gene Avatar

    Good post. Keep writing and achieving.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. VIBlindResources Avatar

      Thank you! XX Chelsey

      Like

  2. BeckieWrites Avatar

    Great post! It’s very true that independence looks different for everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. VIBlindResources Avatar

      Thank you! XX Chelsey

      Like

Leave a comment